Sponsored by:

Metabolomics is the comprehensive analysis of endogenous metabolites in biological specimens. Metabolomics technologies are increasingly used to study metabolism in model systems and for discovery of disease signatures using samples from clinical cohorts. It is a technically challenging field owing to the wide dynamic of concentrations that must be measured as well as the diversity of physical properties among the molecules that constitute the metabolome, for example ranging from polar and acidic compounds of the TCA cycle to nonpolar and neutral compounds like triglycerides. Liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS) is an analytical technology that is well matched to this challenge and has found wide use in the field.

In this webinar, Dr. Clary Clish (Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard) will discuss scientific challenges posed by metabolomics and LC-MS-based measurements and provide an overview of LC-MS workflows. He will describe the utility and limitations of LC-MS methods, what information can be obtained from each, and how to match techniques with experimental questions about the metabolome.

Dr. Clish will answer questions from webinar attendees so be sure to attend and get answers from an expert!

What you will learn in this webinar:

  • The primary challenges encountered in LC-MS-based metabolomics
  • Methods for preparing samples, including quality measures
  • The types of information that can be obtained using this method

Who should attend:

  • Those needing a more complete understanding of the complexities involved in LC-MS-based metabolomics
  • Bench scientists and clinicians who need to become knowledgeable about designing experiments or studies in which metabolomics will be used
Presenter
Dr. Clary Clish
Director of the Metabolite Profiling Platform
Broad Institute - MIT, Harvard
View Presenter Biography

Free Webinar:
LC-MS-based Metabolomics: Workflows, Strategies and Challenges

June 19, 2013 | 12noon- 1pm EDT
(9:00 am PDT / 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST)

Not your time zone? Check the time zone converter here.

Registration Details:

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.

By clicking on the SUBMIT button to attend this FREE webinar, I understand that the above information will be made available to the sponsor for marketing purposes.

Submit

(*) denotes required field